chubby bunnies and other nonsense

It’s been a long time…I know.  I apologize!

Boring stuff first.

Work is work.  It’s mellowed and not as crazy.

Dating?  What’s that?  I am not on any site currently and haven’t been for awhile.  Just got tired of it all and needed a break.

I did meet someone in real life who may be interesting.  It was at a work-thingy happy hour back in late June for the alumni of my college.  Not sure how to read him.  I was the first guest to arrive at the happy hour his company sponsored.  The company has its headquarters in the town where my college is and a lot of their employees are alumni.  I was chatting with some of the sales team, getting to know them, as I had never met any of them before.  He came up to us and inserted himself into the conversation and soon it was just he and I chatting.  Then he had to excuse himself and my two friends (whom I was graciously allowed to invite even though they don’t work in media, but simply because they were alumni, too) arrived and I went off to talk to them.  Later as I was leaving the party, I had to walk past him and I wanted to say goodbye.  I walked over to him and told him it was nice to meet him and talk with him and he said likewise and pulled me in for a hug.  A few days later I connected on LinkedIn to all the sales people I met at the party, for multiple reasons: 1) they are new work contacts, 2) their company is going to hold alumni events in the future and I want to ensure invites to them, and 3) I wanted a way to connect with the cute boy.  With the invitations, I made sure that I mentioned that it was a pleasure meeting and chatting with them at the Thursday night event, so that they would understand the invitation in context and would remember me for the alumni events.  While the others just accepted the invitation, the cute guy wrote back saying that he agreed that it was so nice chatting and that he looked forward to the next time we hang out.  We emailed back and forth a bit.   The last message was from him to me, so I guess it’s my turn to respond.  I’m not sure if he was being so friendly because he’s just a nice guy, or if he’s interested, or if he’s just being a salesman (that is his job after all).  I guess at the latest, I might see him Labor Day weekend at my college football game at Giants Stadium, because his company is going to sponsor a tailgate and I am totally going.  I should write to him this week, though, and maybe we can accelerate a meeting.

In other news, my bff’s little brother got married!  It was such an awesome wedding.  I laughed, I cried.  Such good times.

This past weekend, I went up with 4 others to the Berkshires.  We rented a house and went to see West Side Story (film being shown while the Boston Pops did all the music) at Tanglewood.  It was incredible – the movie, the company, the wine, the cheese.  The night before we found these enormous marshmallows at the supermarket.  I’ve never seen jumbo sized marshmallows, so of course I need to buy them because they are so ridiculous.  But you know what’s even more ridiculous?  Holding a contest to see who can shove two of them into their pie holes.  I suppose it was a tie between one of my friends and I, and even then, neither of us was able to shove the entire two marshmallows in.  But here’s a picture of how (un)successful I was.

Image

I am sorry for the scary no eyes look, but trying to be somewhat anonymous.  As if the blurred out eyes are the worst part of this whole photo!  Also, impossible to say “chubby bunny” with even just one whole one in your mouth (I’m not sharing that picture).

Here’s some exciting news…I am planning on going to Amsterdam and Paris with two friends in mid-September.  One will be in the Netherlands for work and the other friend and I will fly out and meet her in Amsterdam.  I’ve never been to Amsterdam and there are things that I didn’t see the last times I did Paris, so I am so excited.  I got the okay for the days off and hopefully in the next day or two, we’ll book our flights.  Woo hoo!

I think that’s it, kids.  For now, at least.  Till next time!

3 Comments

  1. I love those huge marshmallows! Put one in the microwave.

    That sounds like a fun trip coming up!

    • I live a very sheltered life in NYC when it comes to packaged foods. We simply don’t have the same variety of the ‘burbs and it sucks! I never saw the jumbo marshmallows before. I will definitely have to nuke one and mix in some choco chips and crumbled graham crackers for a delicious s’mores mess.

  2. Good to ‘see’ you back! Even though your eyes seem to have gone missing 😉

Leave a comment