it’s five p.m. somewhere

“Oh, you hate your job? Why didn’t you say so? There’s a support group for that. It’s called EVERYBODY, and they meet at the bar.” – Drew Carey

‘Nough said.  See you by the bar…

 

But seriously, I’m getting into the “I don’t like my job” mood.  It’s not that my job is bad.  I’ve certainly hated other jobs with more passion than now.  Perhaps it’s just my general malaise.  Who knows.  I know it’s a good job and I have good perks and working conditions and salary.  But I’ve been here for 6 years.  The slow transition back to my ‘old’ job is not really happening as fast, if it’s happening at all.  I’m still kinda just plugging away the days.  Getting my shit done, but staying under the radar.  Not a terrible thing, but just a bit boring.  I should be thankful that I have a job in this job market.  And I am.  If I really thought about it, I’d wonder what the hell my issue is.  But, like I said, I think it’s more a symptom of my feelings of blah.

Anyhoo, I am going to a wine and cheese of the Iberian Peninsula class tonight, given by Artisanal.  If you need me, I’ll be busy stuffing as much wine and cheese down my gullet as I possibly can in two hours.  I’ll be looking to break records, so I suppose I should look up those records before I go.

Afterwards I’ll be going home to see if I can salvage the piece of crapola that is my laptop.  It has decided to act like a little bitch and not start up past the log in stage, so I may have to throw it out the window and replace it with a brand new, shiny MacBook pro.  Me likey shiny.

6 Comments

  1. maitchd

    ahahaha! you really made my day with that Drew Carey quote. Simply awesome! Have fun with the wine and cheese! So jealous 😛

    • Isn’t that a great quote? Thanks, I’m gonna try to have as much fun as I can before they inevitably boot me out for eating and drinking too much 🙂

      • maitchd

        Hah! Good luck with that!

  2. I’ve been wanting to go do a wine & cheese thing, but I never get the time. Two trips to Wisconsin and I still couldn’t make it happen. I’m glad to know you plan to ingest more than enough for one person. At least the wine & cheese of the world is being consumed, ha ha

  3. One of my favorite quotes. Especially since it is so fitting me right now. I hate my job . . . and I go to the bar. At least I did last night when the judge made one of my colleagues cry (yes, she is THAT mean) and we all decided that we desperately needed a DRINK. Otherwise, I just drink at home. Because I’m classy like that. What?

    • I don’t deal with judges (I’ve been fortunate enough to avoid having to appear in front of one…so far). But I have a lot of friends who are litigators and are in court often. I hear stories of how assholey judges can be. I don’t blame you and your colleagues for hitting the bar or the bottle at home. No judgement here.

Leave a Reply

