rain, heavy winds, a little hail, and a whole-lotta-nasty

So, it’s not news that there were some terrible storms that swept through the East coast yesterday.  I don’t mind thunder and lightning storms…in fact, I LOVE THEM.  I love them when I am home and don’t have anywhere to go.

I am not particularly fond of them when I am out and will have to inevitably wade through some puddly nastiness in the streets, subways, etc.
I am not particularly fond of them when I am not dressed appropriately (totes my fault) in my beloved maxi dress and flip flops.
I am not particularly fond of them when I have to hike said maxi dress up, therefore using my one free hand, while the other holds an umbrella, making my balance a wee precarious.
I am not particularly fond of them when I am hiking maxi dress up and possibly probably absolutely flashing numerous people (and I’ll bet those people aren’t particularly fond of me hiking dress up as no one wants to see that).
I am not particularly fond of them when I am slipping and sliding and almost falling (I luckily did not, but the epic falls I’ve had in the past are always fresh on my mind).
I am not particularly fond of them when I am stuck on a train or bus that smells mildewy or like wet dog from wet people and soggy umbrellas.
I am not particularly fond of them when I am dodging women with big umbrellas (I find women to be bigger assholes than men when yielding umbrellas).
I am not particularly fond of them when I have errands to run and have to keep opening and shutting my damn umbrella that kinda sticks every time I enter and leave a building.

Anyhoo, I love New York.  I love my city.  I hate the city’s infrastructure and the horrendous inability for it to deal with torrential downpours.  I was fully expecting subway lines to be affected and to have an issue getting home, which by some miracle I didn’t.  However, there are always issues with the drainage in the subway stations.  Take a peek if you will to the videos linked below.

Sorry, that I haven’t upgraded for ‘videopress’ that will embed the video, but I am kinda cheap like that.

The first one is mildly amusing if you can get past the complete and utter disgust of what is happening.

“nyc geyser spits cigarette butts at passer-bys”

“New Yorkers really don’t let anything stop them … “

“Raining in the subway station 34th street New York 3rd video”

And here’s the pretty amazeballs pic that some Giants player took from a plane (when his electronic device should have been turned off!) of the storm eating up Queens.

http://yfrog.com/nyoevesj

 

2 Comments

  1. I like storms, but I hate being out in them. Probably because I hate carrying umbrellas.

    Sooo…you’re in NY…are you going to BlogHer?

    • I did not even know about the BlogHer conference…I’m looking at the event website now. I am thinking about it. Could be interesting. Are you going?

Leave a Reply

