what’s in a name?

“…That which we call a rose by any other name would smell as sweet”

Not quite.  A whole of of agita, if you ask me.

I have never been haunted bombarded by a name as much as I have by St. Elmo’s since we’ve been done with.  Jeezus, his first name or some iteration of it is everywhere!  It’s not a very common name and truthfully, it never really caught my attention before I met him.  His last name is pretty common, so that I expect to see often.

I’ve been doing a lot of reading since we broke up and his first name has popped up in way too many books to be normal.  Like I said, it’s not a name you should come across all that often, so when I do, it makes it that much more surprising.  It’s not like Michael or John or Brian or Matt, etc.  Every time I come across his name it’s like the world is poking at me with a little knife and laughing.  Literally every time I see his name, I think “Oh, for fuck’s sake!  All the millions of names in the world and the author used that one?”

It’s used in TV shows.  As a hurricane name.  In the news.  In commercials.  Everywhere!  It’s a near daily reminder of him (as if I need more prompts for that).

I do, however, giggle with the knowledge that my first name (#2 girl’s baby name in the 1970s, #15 in the ‘80s, #64 in the ‘90s, #115 in ‘00s) is also everywhere, reminding him of who he lost.

Leave a Reply

