random thoughts 5/12

Some random stuff:

I finally got my old peepers checked out and I am happy to say that I am no more blind than I was the last time I had an eye exam.  I am pretty much blind as a bat without contacts or glasses.  But with my contacts, I have 20/20 vision.  And my eye sight hasn’t started to deteriorate so that reading things close up is difficult and need bifocals.  I can still read the smallest print right up in front of my eyes.  Yay for the small victories!

I booked a little trip to visit my mom in Florida at the end of the month.  Airfare was really reasonable and I just need a few days with Mama D.  And to get out of NY and away from everything here.  I am so pleased to know that I will be off of work for 10 straight days (even though I will only be in FL from May 31-June 4).

My ankle is getting better.  The bruising is fading and I can’t wait for it to turn to that lovely jaundiced yellow color.  It still hurts when I navigate stairs, but walking feels better.  It will still be awhile before I can run again and that royally sucks because here’s two more races/$$ down the drain (10K this Saturday and Brooklyn Half next Saturday).

Just found out that one of my good friends, who has spent the past few years teaching at Purdue University, is coming back to New York to teach at NYU (where she got her master’s & doctorate).  I am so freakin’ happy to have her coming back home!

I think I am going to try to get my hair cut this weekend.  I’m probably going to chop off a good 6 inches of it.  It’s pretty long, so even cutting off that much will only put it to shoulder length.  I just want it long enough to pull into a ponytail.  I’m on the fence about cutting bangs.  I always like them for a few days, but then hate them until they grow out.

Ehh, that’s it for now…

2 Comments

  1. Grey Goose, Dirty

    Yey Amy! Have fun with momma! I have May 30 – June 4 booked off from my 2nd job as well! I was going to try and get out of town, but haven’t had a chance to plan anything so may just enjoy having nothing to do at home and possibly catching up on all that crap that gets left behind when you run out of time. 😉

    Have a great time in Florida! Glad to hear your ankle is getting better. 🙂

  2. prettylittlereckless

    Sounds like you have some fun things coming up! And you are brave with cutting your hair! Mine is rather long and I would die if I cut off 6 inches!

Leave a Reply

