dear diary…

This is my 100th post.  I thought it fitting to dedicate it to the simple act of blogging.

It is a little strange to be chronicling my life online.  I’ve kept written journals in the past.  I used to go through phases when I’d write in it every day.  But then one day I wouldn’t and days, months, even years would go by and it would sit unwritten in, blank pages wanting to be scribbled on.  Now here I am, talking about my feelings and sharing them on a mostly regular basis.

Writing about my experiences (dealing with a tough break-up -> navigating the online dating pool -> finding love->losing love->dealing with another tough break-up; running; losing a pet; etc) has been surprisingly effortless and easy to share.  I would have thought that touching on such personal matters would be really hard for me.  It’s not in this online space.  I don’t even mind that those who I know in real life see these very personal feelings.  Those, I mean, who I allow to see the blog.  But they are the people with whom I’d be talking about these feelings with anyway.

I’m happy to be blogging and really, as free therapy, it has saved me hundreds, if not thousands in therapy bills post break-ups.  It probably also saved me thousands in legal fees because it provided a safe outlet to get out my frustrations and anger (as opposed to unleashing it on an unexpecting NYC).  You’re welcome, New Yorkers!

I love that I can go back and read some of the earlier posts and see the transformation from who I was from when I started this to who I am now.  The growth I’ve experienced.  The elations.  The heartbreaks.  The things I’ve learned from others.  The blog friends I’ve made.

Thank you, blog, for being there when I need you the most.

4 Comments

  1. Congrats on your 100th post! I love your blog :)

    • Thank you so much! I really appreciate that!

  2. Grey Goose, Dirty

    Very nice post Amy. Congrats on your 100th. Funny how easy it is to share when seemingly ‘anonymous’ ;-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 248 other followers

