coffee, chocolate. need i say more?

I am by no means one of those girls who swears by chocolate.  Don’t get me wrong, I love the decadent delight.  But when push comes to shove, I could easily give up the cocoa treat.

 

Courtesy of Our Little Brown (www.ourlittlebrown.com)

Yesterday, I saw on a local blog that Max Brenner (Chocolate by the Bald Man) opened up a new coffee bar/bakery in my ‘hood.  Naturally, I had to check it out.  I mean, come on… chocolate AND coffee??????

 

www.ourlittlebrown.com

I walked in to find delicious goodies and such lovely coffee beckoning – mmmmmm.

With wide-eyes, I actually had eye-sex with the baked goodies.  The guy behind the counter had to wave at me to get my attention to ask if I needed anything.

Did I need anything?!

YES!  One of everything, please!

I wound up only, only getting the chocolate molten cake and a chocolate/vanilla pastry twist.  The chocolate molten cake was DELISH!  I would have taken a pic if St. Elmo and I hadn’t scarfed it down in three seconds flat.  One minute in the microwave turned a chocolate cake into chocolate heaven.  We haven’t tried the pastry twist yet, but I anticipate that even a one day old, semi-stale pastry twist will taste amazing.

Having this store one block away from the subway stop might just be the death of me.  I suppose the only positive is that it is one block in the opposite direction from home, so the lazy part of me might prevent me from making the looonnnnggg one block trek. *snort*

Whatever, who am I kidding?  I’m gonna be a regular there.  Sucking down coffee and chocolate like it’s my job.

 

9 Comments

  1. Grey Goose, Dirty

    Amy! I was wondering where you’ve been! Glad you’re well & apparently still in like/luv (see? I can’t even spell it the proper way) enough with St Elmo to share your molten chocolate yumminess! Oh, that sounded sorta dirty, huh?

    I’d be in BIG trouble if a bakery were in walking distance of my house. The good/bad thing about Phoenix is that NOTHING is within walking distance 😦

    • My and my ass’s downfall is that everything is within walking (or delivering) distance. There is actually a less enticing (only slightly less) bakery at the end of my block that I pass every day. Somehow, I’ve managed to stay away. I also miraculously stay out of the Crumbs Bakeshop (enormous, delicious cupcakes) that is in my work building.

      Yes, things are still very good with St. Elmo. Co-habitating is working well for us, even if it is fattening me up to an unacceptable (to me) weight. Instead of nuking a baked potato and calling it dinner, I am eating real food every night and often finding myself baking or buying baked goods as this post would suggest.

      • Grey Goose, Dirty

        OMG! What the heck did I miss?! Last I read I thought you guys were just talking about moving in together. I didn’t know it had actually happened! I’m so excited/happy for you!

        Yeah, real food will get ya’ every time! 😉

        xoxoxoxo

        • He started spending most nights at my place and after it became every night, we figured that we are *unofficially* living together. He still has the bulk of his stuff at his place, but only swings by there maybe once a week to pick up things/mail.

  2. firecracker3

    This place sounds like an orgasm for me 🙂 Heaven!

    • It really is a beautiful store…

  3. Q

    zomg! I hate/love having a yummy bakery near me. That place sounds fantastic!!

    And good luck with St. Elmo! I will leave you with my favorite thought regarding food and love (so favorite it is on a plaque in my kitchen):

    There are things that we do because they feel right, and they may make no sense, and they may make no money, and they may be the real reason we are here: to love each other and to eat each other’s cooking and say it was good.”

  4. LOL! Oh that’s funny! I’m lucky that I don’t really crave sweets much. If an Old Dutch chip factory opened up nearby though, I’d be screwed. Oh hell, they sell chips everywhere. I suppose my addition couldn’t get much worse! I love chips. OMG I want chips.

  5. I need to go to Boston like yesterday. I watched ‘Unwrapped’ the other day and this chocolate shop created this dangerous treat called P2C2: peanut butter, crushed potato chips, chocolate and caramel. I’d be that store’s best customer. You might want to find an alternative route home.

Leave a Reply

