if it makes you happy

It can’t be that bad?  Or so Sheryl Crow says.

The rain has me in a meh mood today.  I think it’s because I’m at work.  I would love the rain if I were home, curled up on the couch with a good book and stack of magazines.

This has me thinking of things that make me happy to lift my mood.

Water.  As in the ocean, lakes, pools, streams, rivers.  I love love love being near water.  Looking out over it puts me in a zen state.  I can spend hours staring out at water and it never gets old.  Never.

Boats.  This ties in with the water, obviously.  Big boats, little boats.  I love them all.  I am going sailing on the Hudson River this coming weekend and can’t wait.  In two weekends, I am doing a craft beer tasting aboard a schooner out of South Street Seaport.  That should be a lot of fun.

Tulips.  These are my favorite flowers.  They are simple and beautiful.  They come in so many colors and are fairly inexpensive in-season.  When I need a pick-me-up I buy two bunches for my apartment.  It also helps that my cats haven’t acquired a taste for them and leave them alone.

Animals.  I love most animals.  All of the cute cuddly ones and most of the big *ugly* ones.  I enjoy going to zoos and aquariums.  It turns me into a 35 year-old going on 8 year-old.

Penguins.  I love penguins.  They always make me laugh.  How can you watch them waddling around and not smile?  Emperor penguins are my favorite.  This video cracks me up every time.

Roller Coasters.  Talk about feeling like a kid.  I love them.  The faster, longer, more loops, more twists, more big hills, more everything, the better.  But I like steel coasters.  Not a huge fan of rickety wooden ones, though I will always try to go on the Cyclone when I am in Coney Island.

Cheese.  I consider cheese to be a food group.  It goes with almost anything.  Hard cheese, soft cheese, mild cheese, stinky cheese, stringy cheese, crumbly cheese – all good, all yummy!

Crisp, clean sheets.  There is nothing like the feeling of crawling into a bed with fresh linens.  Pulling the sheets and comforter up to your neck.  I love the weight of a heavy comforter.  In the winter I will even add a blanket, not for the warmth, but for the extra weight.  I don’t know why I like it, it just feels good.  Like I’m being hugged by the covers.

Music.  It keeps me balanced.  I have always loved music.  Most types too.  The only type of music I think I don’t like is the clubby house music.  That I can do without.  Music helps keep me from pummeling annoying people on my daily commute (subway riders are awful!).  It keeps me energized on long runs.  It makes long boring periods of time go by quicker.  It allows me to tune out of my own thoughts and get lost in the music and lyrics.

This list is longer, but just writing about these 9 things has elevated my spirits enough to emerge from the Monday funk.  I hope your Monday has been good and if not, then please think about what brings a smile to your face 🙂

3 Comments

  1. It must be a May Day thing because I agree with 100% of your list. Something about water and boats just draws me in, like I can’t live without it. Being land locked would make me totally crazy. I wouldn’t live here if we didn’t have a huge lake that covered 4 counties. I thought we were earth signs, yet we seem so drawn to water, interesting. And cheese, I have a love hate relationship with cheese, I love it, but I might as well just tape it to my thighs and ass, I can give up a lot of foods, chocolate is one I don’t care about, but cheese, NEVER!

    When I get my sailboat, you + me and a lot of cheese are going sailing for a week!

    • OMG, when you get your sailboat, I’ll bring loads of cheese, baguettes, and wine. bon appetit!

  2. Oh ya, and if you are ever in CT, go check out the aquarium, not the Mystic one, the other one, it’s not huge, but it’s fun, the sea turtles are amazing, plus there are wooden turtles without heads for you to pose behind, good times and pictures are sure to be had. Just be sure when posing to beeee the turtle.

Leave a Reply

