if you have…

If you have a husband who makes your life INTERESTING, full of fun and is your best friend, who’s been with you through thick and thin and who has been a blessing in your life, and to whom you are PROUD to be married too, copy and paste this to your status with the date you were married.

This was a recent Facebook status update from one of my friends.  This pissed me off.  Not for the sentiment.  The sentiment is sweet.  I just find it irritating that people feel the need to broadcast this.  It’s beautiful and wonderful that you love your husband.  How about you tell him yourself, in person, face to face, so he can see how much you mean it.  I know that you love your husband, I don’t need to read it in my feed.

“If you have a husband…”  Thanks a bunch, but I DON’T HAVE A HUSBAND.  I am 35 and single.  And fabulous, I might add.  It’s not that I don’t want a husband, I just haven’t met him yet.  Thanks for reminding me of this fact, cause you know it’s not already lurking in the back of my mind.

It’s an insult to all those who don’t have a husband (or wife or life partner or any kind of significant other).  It’s almost as bad as saying “If you have legs and can run…”  What about those who can’t run or even walk for that matter.  “If you have a job…”  It’s a slap in the face for all those who have lost their job due to the economy.  “If you have a wonderful mother or father…”  What about those of us (me) who has a really shitty parent (my father) or those who have lost a parent.

I get that you feel the need to share with everyone how wonderful and perfect your life is and how much you have, but don’t do it in a way that makes others feel like shit.  If you love your husband or whomever, just say “I love my husband, he’s fantastic”.  Don’t make a statement telling others to post the same sentiment when they might not have the same such luck.

That’s my two-cents on these types of status updates.  Please don’t do them.

11 Comments

  1. I loathe ALL those type facebook statuses! I NEVER repost them, never. You know what’s worse to me? The “Likes”, “….likes something totally stupid and racist ad full of hate… click like if you agree”. I find out things about friends that make me like them less. Which as you have seen, is more or less my posts there are silly things about sparkly vampires, no political views, no religious views, etc… cause really, if I don’t want to hear theirs, and they are stupid enough to post that crap, they are probably stupid enough to engage me in an argument and then I’ll have to lose a friend. No… people should shut up about things like that on facebook.

  2. These kinds of things always make me feel a little sad too..and are great reminders(as though we ever forgot..psh!) of what we don’t have in our lives. But then, I prob shouldn’t talk, I did repost something the other day saying my dad is my hero… I don’t have a mom and when I did she was mostly like you describe your dad here so… I always go out of my way to honor my dad. I’ll definitely be more thoughtful with those things from now on…

    • Kay, I hope you continue and publicly celebrate how wonderful your father is, if he is as much of a hero to you as my mother is to me. They should be honored. I just bristled when I saw that particular post and it rubbed me the wrong way. I am sure I have been guilty of one of these types of updates in the past. I am just more aware of them now and hope that anything I post is not going to offend others. I’m like V, in that I try to just stick to the stupid life things that happen to me or post silly, light things on FB. Btw, tried to find you on it, but couldn’t with your email. I’m Amy D-blahblahblah on V’s page. I’ve commented on a few of her posts or updates.

  3. Just know that “those” husbands are ALL cheating…which is why the wife in on Facebook posting that stuff. DENIAL.

  4. I’m with you, Amy. I’m 36, and I don’t think I’m every going to find myself a husband.

    On a related note, my all-time favorite “like” on Facebook is “it in the butt.” If you don’t get it, find the page and “like” it. Then… you’ll see. Yooooouuuu’ll see. 😉

    • Dennis, ummm, I’m a little afraid of checking out the “it in the butt” thing you are referring to.

      • Haha. Don’t worry, it’s just the joke. Nothing dirty about it after that. 😉

  5. Excellent post and I fully agree! Apparently, married life is magical and full of lollipops, fairies, and cotton candy dreams! 🙂

    It’s not as if I ever post a status saying, “Hey, I can watch whatever I want on tv, sole control of the remote, People! I can spend my money on whatever I please and pretty much DO whatever I want, without restriction. If you wish YOU had freedom in your life, click LIKE!”

    • I will totally click “Like” on that type of status update. And truth be told, single life is all lollipops, fairies and cotton candy (real stuff) if you want it to be. That’s what’s fantastic about being single! You can eat all that at any moment, because it’s YOUR choice!

  6. One of the main reasons I don’t like this facebook post is the: If you have a husband who makes your life INTERESTING

    I make my life interesting. My life is interesting. My friends and family make my life interesting. My hobbies make my life interesting. My work makes my life interesting. My husband (or any man, really) is not the definition of making my life interesting. They can contribute, but they don’t make it.

    Just saying. Maybe I’m bitter, but whatever!

    • I really like your take in that you (and all of the components of your life) make your life interesting. The man or woman should be the complement to your interesting life. Good call, Catherine. And you’re not bitter. I don’t think any of us are. We just realize that life is what we make it, not others. And we are realists in that we recognize what’s real and what’s fantasyland.

Leave a Reply

