21 questions

New York magazine has a feature where they ask various New Yorkers the same 21 questions.  I decided to answer the questions and post them.  Feel free to do the same for your city, it’s fun.

Name: Amy
Age: 35
Neighborhood: Upper East Side
Occupation: Leaving this one unanswered to protect the innocent

Who’s your favorite New Yorker, living or dead, real or fictional?
Is it tacky to say me?

What’s the best meal you’ve eaten in New York?
This is a tough one.  Too many choices.  I have to say one of the more memorable ones is one “steak night” (about 8 years ago, a group of 9 girlfriends and I used to do monthly “steak nights” where we’d visit one of the many steakhouses in NYC, though it evolved to any fun restaurant).  It was in December, right before the holidays.  We went to Del Frisco’s on 6th Ave.  We had a corner table and if you know the restaurant, it has huge floor to ceiling windows that span two stories.  It was snowing that night and beautiful.  The food was great, the wine was great, the conversation was hysterical (per usual) and the waiter loved us.  For dessert, the waiter brought out one of everything – comped on the house!  It was such a fun way to dine with friends to celebrate the holidays.

In one sentence, what do you actually do all day in your job?
Create and report bullshit stuff.

What was your first job in New York?
Sales assistant job at a company that I got after answering an ad in the NY Times help wanted section in the actual printed newspaper.  Damn, I’m old.

What’s the last thing you saw on Broadway?
I don’t remember the name of the show, but Tom Wopat (aka Luke Duke) was in it and it was a depressing musical.  But the tickets were free, so nothing lost, except for a few hours of my time.

Do you give money to panhandlers?
No, but I like to give food.  My worst story was when I was on a very crowded subway and a homeless guy was asking for food or money to buy food.  His back was turned toward me, but I told him that I have an apple, if he’d like to have it.  He turned around, smiled the biggest smile at me and proceeded to say “Thank you, that is really nice, but unfortunately I don’t have teeth and can’t eat it.  But thank you anyway”.  I almost dropped dead of embarrassment and felt horrible.  The one day that I have an apple instead of my usual banana…

What’s your drink?
Diet Coke.  I’m addicted, but if that’s my worst vice, I’m okay with it.  As for alcohol…wine and beer, separately of course.  I rarely drink hard liquor anymore.

How often do you prepare your own meals?
As often as I have the time, energy, and ingredients to prepare something.  I love to cook.  But usually winds up being around 3 dinners per week that I make.  Sometimes I make myself lunch.

What’s your favorite medication?
DTC = birth control pills and Nasonex.  OTC = allergy meds and Excedrin Migraine.  If you can’t tell, I have a lot of allergies and I hate sneezing and having a stuffy or runny nose.  I don’t *do* the illegal stuff, haven’t for a long, long time.

What’s hanging above your sofa?
Framed prints of pics I took on my Oz trip.

How much is too much to spend on a haircut?
Just a haircut?  More than $75.

When’s bedtime?
I always aim to be in bed by 11:30PM, but usually it’s not until 12:30 or 1AM.  And if I’m suffering through one of my insomnia bouts, any time between 4-6AM.

Which do you prefer, the old Times Square or the new Times Square?
Neither, I avoid Times Square like the plague.  But if I must choose, new.

What do you think of Donald Trump?
I try not to, but the first word that comes to mind is gaudy (1980’s glitzy and gaudy).

What do you hate most about living in New York?
The funky smells that permeate the city.

Who is your mortal enemy?
Or what?  My own mind.  Most of my mental anguish comes from me beating myself up.  Also, time is an enemy.  There’s just not enough of it.

When’s the last time you drove a car?
I think it was May when I rented a car to drive to NJ for a baby shower.

How has the Wall Street crash affected you?
My 401K was hit, but that also could have been from my own mis-management of investments.  I’ve since put it in the hands of a professional who knows what he’s doing.

Times, Post, or Daily News?
Times, though I do like my fix of Page Six gossip from the Post.

Where do you go to be alone?
My apartment.  Just me and my kitties.  Or I go to Central Park to run with my iPod.  Even though there are tons of people around, I’m lost in my own thoughts and the music.

What makes someone a New Yorker?
Being able to pass by a famous person, not care one bit and be annoyed at the tourists who stop to take pics and ask for autographs.  Also, being able to know which direction is uptown or downtown just by the major avenues and which way they run (exception being Park Ave which runs both ways).

4 Comments

  1. MORE THAN $75?!?!?! Yeesh, I’m glad to be a guy. I bitch when it’s more than $17.

    By the way, nice new layout. I was all confused when I clicked on the link in my email, because I thought it had taken me to my blog for a sec… 😉

  2. Ha! I chose this layout because it’s easy on the eyes. I felt like the other one I had was too hard to read and my aging eyes couldn’t handle it.

  3. WOAH on the haircut! I just got my long hair colored and highlighted for $75! Which was more than usual because after last time she realized how much hair I have and has to use twice the color stuff to get it all. Usually color and cut is $100 for me. Maybe that’s b/c she’s my neighbor, the fancy salon/spa I use to go to was around $200 for the same thing.

    • I have gotten cheaper haircuts in NYC, but found that you get what you pay for. If you go to a reputable salon here, then you have to expect to pay around $75+, depending on your hair type. Or maybe I’ve just been a sucker and been ripped off all these years! About 7 years ago, I put an end to highlighting my hair. I used to go to an organic salon down in Soho and paid around $300 for cut and full head highlights – talk about WHOA. You can’t keep up that kind of maintenance without breaking the bank, unless you make major bank (and I sure as hell didn’t). When I lived in the ‘burbs, my hair costs did not cost as much as it does here in the city.

Leave a Reply

