what goes around, comes around

I believe in karma.  For the most part.

If you live your life as a decent person and doing good things, then good things should happen to you.  And the opposite, if you are a bad person.

However, I keep seeing bad things happen to very good people who I know.  What is wrong with the universe???  The wrong people are being punished, whether it is economically, physically, or mentally by the powers that be.

Yesterday, when I was coming back to my office from picking up lunch, I noticed that someone had dropped money next to the security card swipe device on my floor.  It looked as if someone had pulled out their security card and with it the money accidentally fell to the floor.  It wasn’t a lot of money, maybe $12 (I saw a ten-dollar bill and a single or two), but I imagine that it sucks to lose it no matter what the amount.

I left it sitting there on the floor.  About 5 minutes later, my coworkers came in.  I asked them if the money was still sitting there.  They didn’t see any, so someone obviously took it.  I’m only hoping that it was the person who accidentally lost it, figured it out and went back to retrieve it.  However, I doubt that scenario.

Sure, it would have been easy to grab the money and think “finders keepers.”  But I don’t need that kind of karma.  I don’t want or need to test the universe to see what would come my way if I had taken money that didn’t belong to me.

I, by no means, claim to be the most upstanding citizen.  I admit to laughing at some people’s misfortune.  I admit that I’ve spoken behind people’s backs.  But in the grand scheme of things, I do want to be a good person and hope that the universe and “powers that be” recognize that and return the favor 🙂

2 Comments

  1. I’d like to believe in karma but apparently I did something to piss off karma a while back and I’ve been getting the shaft. Much to my delight I, like yourself, have witnessed far too many jerk offs being rewarded for bad behavior and poor choices. Where’s the fairness in that?

    So maybe, just maybe, and maybe only for me… being a bitch would be more rewarding. I’ll let you know how that works out. 🙂

    • I’m thinking the bitch strong woman route may be the way to go.

Leave a Reply

