Yikes! anticipating date #1

So, I have my 1st first date in three years this coming Wednesday – EEEKKKKSSSS!!!!

I’m a bit out of practice. The past three years I was John and each of the three times we broke up, I rebounded with Jeff.

Last week I dusted off my Match.com profile. Made some tweaks and added new pics. I paid for a 3 month subscription and am giving it another go.

Wednesday, I am going out with Brooklyn Runner guy. Don’t know a whole lot about him. We’ve only had three email back and forth exchanges, mostly talking about running, but he was very pleasant and polite in them. His profile had one picture (he looked cute). The text of the profile wasn’t too different from every other person on Match. We’ll see how it goes. Luckily, I haven’t had many terrible first dates. I find it pretty easy to talk to people, so I’m usually at ease for at least the couple of hours that a first date takes.

Fingers crossed that he’s not a total psycho and at the very least can hold a pleasant conversation. I’m not counting on a match made in heaven, but just someone I am not going to run from at the end of the date. I’m not asking for too much….

9 Comments

  1. OMG….good luck girl…I hope you have a FABULOUS time!!!!

    • Thanks! It’s like riding a bike, right? I appreciate the support!

  2. Yup….I just *very* recently dusted off my dating profile too…and it IS kinda like riding a bike…
    I’m only still deciding though if the experience and wisdom I gained since my last dating “escapades” are more helpful or not…I believe there’s a great deal of validity to “ignorance is bliss”…but I, like you, am just having fun with it, so all is well! At the very least, you’ll have a fresh n interesting blog topic, right? ;-P

  3. Good luck! I’m a little concerned that he only put up one photo, but it might be all he has – not all men like to take photos of themselves…

    In any case, it’ll provide some good fodder for your blog, right?

    Hope it goes well!

    • Thank you! I’m just trying to keep an open mind and even if he turns out to be not so cute, I’ve at least enjoyed our email correspondence and I think we’ll have a nice time chatting. I’ll let you all know how it went 🙂

  4. awesome, have a good time, be safe! I think I’m going to dust off the old match.com profile and see what’s out there, the free sites weren’t doing it for me. 3 moths won’t kill me right?

    • We are going to meet someplace in Hell’s Kitchen, which is near my work. I was going to suggest any neighborhood except for the one where I live, just in case.

      I say totally dust off the match profile and give it a whirl. When I was first going thru the process of actually subscribing I kept thinking “OK, 6 month guarantee…. if I don’t find someone in 6 months, then I get another 6 months for free?” Hmmm, as tempting as that sounds, if I don’t find someone in 6 months (and I’m not talking life long partner), I don’t think I want to waste another 6 months on the site. Even if it’s for free. So, I chose the 3 month option. If I hate it after 3 months, it was only 3 months. I wish you the best of luck as you’re dealing with a smaller pool in a small town!

  5. Good luck! The first one is weird, but after about three, you’ll be back in the game :). Hope you have fun, and let your goal be to laugh: either at him or with him, whichever happens first 🙂

    • Thanks, Catherine! I do feel at ease. This guy seems down to earth and easy to talk to (at least that’s how he comes across over email). Hopefully, I’ll be laughing with him before either of us is laughing at each other 🙂

Leave a Reply

