eurotrip part quatre

Aaannnnnnnd more photos!  (really this is me being too lazy to write)

Les Catacombes
(Roughly 6 million bodies are buried in this ossuary beneath Paris.  Signs at the entrance warn against small children or those with a nervous disposition entering.)

DSC_0617

We waited about 45 minutes to get in, as they only allow 250 people at a time inside. It’s a 2K walking tour underneath Paris.

A worker named Décure carved this sculpture of Port-Mahon into the stone from memory - Uhh-may-zing

Workers carved this out of the stone.

The other side of Décure's carving

The other side of the carving

A worker named Décure carved this sculpture of Port-Mahon into the stone from memory - Uhh-may-zing

A worker named Décure carved this sculpture of Port-Mahon into the stone from memory – Uhh-may-zing

The quarryman's footbath contained crystal clear water that was used to mix cement

The quarryman’s footbath contained crystal clear water that was used to mix cement

Impressive tunnels

Impressive tunnels (I don’t know this couple.  Grrrrr, they ruined my shot!)

Oh, no!  I'm a little scared!  The sign reads "Stop! This is the empire of death!"

Oh, no! I’m a little scared! The sign reads “Stop! This is the empire of death!”

Err, a whole lotta French that I can't read.

Err, a whole lotta French that I can’t read.

First sighting of bones!  Not as creepy as I thought it'd be

First sighting of bones! Not as creepy as I thought it’d be.

We weren't allowed to use a flash, so many pictures came out blurry because I can't hold a camera that steady while the shutter remains open for what feels like 5 minutes.

We weren’t allowed to use a flash, so many pictures came out blurry because I can’t hold a camera that steady while the shutter remains open for what feels like 5 minutes.

DSC_0680 DSC_0672 DSC_0666

"Smile".  One of the guards/workers in the tunnels was kind enough to point out the next two skulls and hold a flashlight up so I could take a pic.

One of the guards/workers in the tunnels was kind enough to point out two skulls and hold a flashlight up so I could take pics.  This one still had teeth.

Say "ahhh"

Open wide and say “ahhh”

Heading toward the exit of the Catacombes.  By some miracle, I did not slip onto my ass while walking down these slippery tunnels.

Heading toward the exit of the Catacombes. By some miracle, I did not slip onto my ass while walking down these damp slippery tunnels.

La Basilique du Sacré Cœur de Montmartre

Steps, steps, and more steps leading up to Sacre Couer in Montmartre.

Steps, steps, and more steps leading up to Sacre Coeur.

View from the steps.

View from the steps.

DSC_0711

Couldn’t take pics inside and it’s a shame because it was beautiful :(

Train to Épernay

We got into the car that had separate compartments.  Luckily, we did not have an Italian speaking Fred Armisen humping our legs saying "mi scusi, mi scusi" and smoking a ciggy.

We got into the car that had separate compartments. Luckily, we did not have an Italian speaking Fred Armisen humping our legs saying “mi scusi, mi scusi” and smoking a ciggy afterwards.

I finally got some good pics of the French countryside!

More pics of the French countryside.

We’ve arrived!

Épernay, France

DSC_0808

We need to go that-a-way!

We need to go that-a-way!

Look at how pretty the visitor's center is.

The visitor’s center is so pretty.

It's like the mothership calling me home...

It’s like the mothership calling me home…

Just hangin' with my bud, Dom

Just hangin’ with my bud, Dom

Tix for tour and tasting

Tix for cellar tour and tasting

DSC_0840

Ooooh, so many bottles

DSC_0852

Nothing scary about these cellars.

DSC_0849

OK, so they may be a little dusty and dirty with cobwebs.

Finally, the tasting!

Finally, the tasting!

Yummy

Á votre santé!

Á votre santé!  (excuse the dirty glass, I’d already taken a sip…or a gulp already)

Of course, I had to take some pictures acting like an ass...Here's the first.

Of course, I had to take some pictures acting like an ass…Here’s the first.

And the second.

Pink!  Look at the cute pink insulation jackets for the bottles!

Pink! Look at the cute pink insulation jackets for the bottles!

Walking down Avenue de Champagne...selfie at Perrier Jouet.

Walking down Avenue de Champagne…selfie at Perrier-Jouet.

DSC_0915 DSC_0916 DSC_0917 DSC_0918 DSC_0919 DSC_0920 DSC_0926

1 Comment

  1. Non, non, non, NON. I disagree. Those catacombs are TRES creepy!!

    However, the wine cellar was a thing of beauty. Oui oui!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 248 other followers

