eurotrip part deux

We had a pleasant three-hour train ride from Amsterdam to Paris.  I tried my darnedest to get quaint French county-side pictures.  I was trying to get the cute little town with the church and its chapel.  Out of god-knows-how-many-picture-attempts, I maybe managed to get a few decent ones.

DSC_0076

Arriving at our Paris home, we were met by the house manager, Mr. Marcel.  What a delight he was!  He manages the apartment for the French owners, who live, coincidentally, in New York City.  Mr. Marcel is a spry, charming 82-year-old who showed us the whole house which consisted of four floors, 5 bedrooms, 3 baths, and a roof terrace – a HUGE place for 3 ladies.  He was very helpful in telling us where to go in the neighborhood and how to get around.  On our departure, he called us a cab and saw us off.

Day 1:
Cimetière du Montparnasse (gorgeous, peaceful cemetery with really pretty and ornate mausoleums)

DSC_0094

DSC_0095

DSC_0081

Jardin du Luxembourg

DSC_0126 DSC_0128

Cathédrale Notre Dame

DSC_0168 DSC_0169 DSC_0175

La Seine (right before the torrential downpour)

DSC_0191

Day 2:
Château de Versailles

DSC_0229 DSC_0235 DSC_0293 DSC_0300 DSC_0320 DSC_0351

Tour Eiffel

DSC_0366 DSC_0373

Champs-Éysées & Arc de Triomphe de l’Étoile

DSC_0413 DSC_0452 DSC_0435 DSC_0431 DSC_0420

Those are pics from the first two days in Paris.  I took over 1000 pics in France.  It’s such a beautiful city and my photo skills don’t do it justice.

Next up: the last few days of Paris.

4 Comments

  1. Great pics! Love the last few overlooking the city.

    Do you or any of the girls on the trip speak a foreign language fluently? Just curious :)

    • Thanks, J. Fluently??? That’s a big negative. The other girls know high school French. I know high school Spanish. As for French, I know the basic pleasantries, however I butchered every French word I attempted to pronounce, with the exception of “fromage”, “vin”, “croissant”, and “pain au chocolat”. Those I recited in my sleep followed with “de plus, s’il vous plaît”. None of us know Dutch. Luckily, everyone we encountered in Amsterdam spoke fluent English and in France all spoke enough for simple conversations.

  2. It poured on us our second day there. We took a cruise on the Seine and it wasn’t very pretty. Luckily it was covered. The first day we walked up to the top of the Arc de Triumph, then walked all the way down the Champs-Élysées to the Louvre. By the time we got into the Louvre, I was exhausted and my feet were killing me (I was young and stupid and wearing inappropriate footwear), so we couldn’t even go through the entire thing. THEN we tried to walk over to Notre Dame. Not happening. We actually took a cap. And did not go to the top. That was a LONG day. But the city is beautiful and magical and I want to go back to see all the things I didn’t get to see. Looks like you had a fab time!

    • Every day we walked so much and my feet were killing me by late afternoon and I was wearing oh-so-fashionable sneakers. I think after 4th day, my feet just got used to the pain and it wasn’t so bad. My right heel still kinda hurts and I wonder if I bruised it on the trip.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 248 other followers

