eurotrip part een

I know you’ve all been waiting with bated breath for me to regale you with tales of my travels… [and eyes roll around the world]

I had a later start to my vacation, as I had planned to leave work at 3pm, I didn’t in fact leave until 5pm.  That damn work thing always gets in the way of a good time.  Coming from work, I took the subway/airtrain combo to the airport and while it was an easy and mostly smooth ride (except for that part where we stopped in the tunnel for 10 minutes right before my stop), it was a hot one.  It was in the mid-80s that day and the subway did not have fully functional A/C.  Needless to say, I was a hot, sweaty mess by the time I got to JFK.

As is par for the course, I proceeded to stand on either every wrong line or the slowest line checking my bag or getting through security.  What should have been a 20 minute thing, took me about 40.  Finally, finally I get to the brand spanking new, shiny Delta Sky Club lounge in terminal 4.  I settle down with glass #1 of free wine and my laptop, waiting for my friend, whom we’ll call Nova to arrive.

DSC_0006

After Nova arrived with less than an hour till we had to board, we proceeded to down red wine like it was our fucking jobs.  Oh and the free snacks.  I might have taken cookies to-go.  And two apples.  Anyway, four glasses of free red wine later, we board.  After the meal and a very short nap, a crying screaming baby wakes me.  And I am feeling hung over.  Know what’s not so fun?  Flying at 30,000 feet with slight turbulence, a screaming baby nearby, and feeling like you’re going to barf up the crappy pasta dinner you ate.  I turned the air on me, popped some peppermint gum and felt better.  Breakfast was served, but I was still in no condition to eat.  Miraculously, by the time we landed, I was back at 100%.

Getting through passport control and retrieving our luggage  in Amsterdam was super easy and quick.  I spotted our host (the owner of the apt we rented who was picking us up) even when we were not even close to our meeting spot.  Twenty minutes later, we are pulling up in front of our new home for 3 days.  The apartment was a cute one bedroom, but it was on the second floor and the steep, steep steps to it would pose a problem with our heavy luggage.  Somehow I wrestled my bag up.  When our other friend, whom we will call Demi, came and met us from her business trip in Rotterdam, I helped her carry her enormous suitcase up.

The weather in Amsterdam for the most part was chilly (50′s F) and rainy or overcast.  One morning we had sun and I was able to get some nice pics.  Here’s a few from Amsterdam:

DSC_0345

DSC_0306

Anne Frank House

DSC_0280

CHEESE!!!!! Grab your Lactaid. Lots of lovely, delectable cheese!

iam

Me in front of the Rijksmuseum and the “I am Amsterdam” thinga-ma-bob

DSC_0289 DSC_0337

I did take a few silly pictures.  Otherwise known on this trip as “hey, take a picture of me being an ass or idiot.”

Heineken

At the Heineken Experience tasting room, we ran into a group of guys from the UK celebrating a bachelor party.  When I asked if I could take a picture of them, they said I should get in the picture with them.  Who the hell am I to say “No”?

ShoesFreaking awesome wooden shoes!

I took over 350 pictures over the 2.5 days in Amsterdam.  I’ll spare you all from posting them all here :)

Here’s my Amsterdam breakdown in bullet points:

  • Don’t need more than 2 days in Amsterdam
  • Red Light District is interesting (can’t take pics), in the sense that all the girls were very pretty; all were very made up; all were very thin; all had very big fake boobs; all sported a very bored look on their face; all had ciggy in one hand, cell in the other; all had belly button piercings; all had phenomenal lingerie
  • In the RLD, public urination is a common occurrence…look out for puddles and watch where you step
  • You meet some very interesting people in coffee shops
  • Skip Rembrandt House; waste of money
  • Loved Van Gogh Museum
  • Loved Anne Frank House; it’s such a sobering, yet interesting place with much to learn about beyond the Frank family
  • Rijksmuseum is overwhelming, but in a good way
  • Heineken Experience was fun…I mean hey, they give you beer
  • You don’t need the large sized frites.  It’s a lot of fries.  Unless you are sharing.
  • You will leave the city having PTSD from almost getting run over by a bike every 5 seconds and whiplash from swinging your head in every which direction looking out for said bikes

Next up…Paris!

5 Comments

  1. Brenda

    Totally LOVED your recap – but especially loved the pic in the wooden shoes.
    I am soooooo jealous!!

  2. Looks like you had a great time!

  3. Great pictures! Looks like you had a fantastic time! Happy for you!

  4. Ok, so this is the part where I say I am catching up as I did not know you were back to posting.

    My husband had a 2 week trip to Rotterdam many years ago and I joined him there for about 4 days. We trained it to Amsterdam for just the day and did the Anne Frank house (your description is apt) and Van Gogh museum, but that is all. I would like to go back for one more day. We also did Paris for the weekend in the middle there. I see that is up next. I will stay tuned . . .

    (Oh, and you look fabulous!! Even with black bars across your face). ;)

    • Ha! No prob. I’ve been very sporadic in posting.

      I’d like to spend another couple of days in Amsterdam just doing nothing in particular and wandering, stopping for a beer, sitting by a canal, etc.

      Thanks for the compliment! I think the black bar adds a little something extra to the pics :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 248 other followers

