randoms on 4/30

It is now in full countdown mode: 4 weeks until I jet off to the DR.  Woo hoo!  That means I need to make every attempt at clean living to shave off the excess weight I’m carrying.  I feel it when I run, when I am sedentary, when I breathe, when I put on clothes.  It sucks.  Big time.

Yesterday, I had a 4-mile race.  The first mile was quite possibly the slowest mile I have ever run.  I don’t know why, it started out exactly how almost every other 4-mile race does in Central Park.  I just felt like a snail moving along.  But at least I was moving along.  Miles 2 and 3 were a bit faster, even with the rolling hills, but I did have to take walking breaks.  The difference is that the walking breaks were a lot shorter than I had been taking the past few races.  The fourth mile, though, was completely different.  I hit my stride.  It actually felt good to be running.  I picked up my snail’s pace and finished strong.  I was pleased with myself at the end of the run.  I’m not always.  When I got home later to check my time, it wasn’t there in the results.  I mildly freaked out and was really annoyed.  I had a good run, better than my last 4 or 5 and it wasn’t recorded????  But thankfully there was a glitch in the system that was fixed and all is good.  My results were recorded and posted and I get credit for completing it.  Yay!

On Friday, I was out celebrating a male friend’s birthday.  I’ve known him for 12 years now and he’s one of the best guys I know.  Towards the end of the night (around 2AM), those of us who were still out started joking that the birthday boy and I should have babies, cause they’d be pretty damn cute babies.  If only they all knew that I was only like 10% joking.  Get ready for a very un-PC comment…I’ve always wanted little black babies.  Always have, always will.  I used to say it all the time.  All my friends know.  Hell, even St. Elmo used to say that unless we adopted, I missed my chance of having little black babies by being with him and he’d warn me not to kidnap any little cuties I saw in the street/subway/etc.

Anyhoo, not much else.  I have a birthday dinner tomorrow with some awesome friends.  I’m so looking forward to it, but just to see them, not to actually acknowledge my bday.

1 Comment

  1. Kiefer and I were watching TV the other day and saw this little black girl with the cutest hair, and I said, “I hope our baby has hair like that.” He said we’ll need to adopt to get a child with hair like that.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 248 other followers

