frozen in time

There’s this woman I know.  I wouldn’t call her a friend, though we have friends in common and will find ourselves in the same social situation a handful of times a year.  Anyways, I’ll call her Karen (in honor of the singer who sings that Manhunt song in Flashdance).

Karen’s single and on a serious manhunt.  She’s going out as much as she can to meet men.  She’s on dating sites.  She’s making finding a man her second full-time job.  While I admire her dedication in this pursuit, there is one major thing she does that annoys the piss out of me.

Karen lies about her age on the dating sites.  She sells herself as being 38 years old, when in fact she’s 43.  Looks-wise, she probably could pass as 38.  Maturity, or immaturity-wise, yeah.  I know she’s not the first or last person to lie about their age, but I just can’t justify it in any way, shape or form.

Her reasoning to why she says she’s 38?  Because she had her eggs frozen at 38…reproductively she says she’s 38!  WTF?  Umm, I don’t care when the hell you froze your eggs, your body and uterus are still biologically your real age.  Ten years from now, if her eggs are still on ice, is she still going to say she’s 38???

I just don’t get it.  I mean, say she meets Mr. Prince Charming and they hit it off…will she come clean about her true age?  I can only imagine how uncomfortable that conversation will be.  “So, you know how I said I was 38…well, my eggs are 38, cause they’re frozen.  But I’m actually five years older.”  “Umm, yeah, right, okay…see ya (never)!”

People make me want to slam my head against the wall sometimes.

8 Comments

  1. oneshewolf

    This one was too good to just read and not comment. Wtf, she is lying right out of the gate. Wrong. Wrong. Wrong. Those people make me want to walk up behind the guys she dates, lean in and whisper, “She looks good for 43, huh…” Then walk away…

    • Yeah, straight up lying. Your idea is awesome…maybe I should go out on the next happy hour manhunt just to do that.

  2. Lying doesn’t seem like a good way to start a relationship.

    • Not a good way to start, have or end a relationship.

  3. I don’t understand it, either. Why lie about it? It’s going to come out at SOME point. Duh! No one cares if you LOOK younger than you are or if your EGGS are a certain age…they care that you are truthful from the get-go.

    • It’s not only lying to the other person, but she’s really lying to herself too.

  4. Your post made me respond. I hear you, seriously, what is wrong with people? If I was dating a guy, and he told me he lied about his age, the VERY FIRST qustion I would ask myself is , a) why? and b) what else is he lying about?

    You can’t have an open, honest releations it begins on a foundation of lies, even the tiny ones will cause fractures/fissures in the base..

    Just my .02

  5. annie

    This post was very timely for me, I just received an email from a guy whose profile says 27, but the email says “how are you, I’m really 35″. WTH? It just irks me that people do that! I’m thinking of responding something stupid like “I’m good, I’m really a 45 year old man” or “why don’t you tell me what other things in your profile are complete crap.” I mean really, why start off with such a big lie? The funny thing is, I don’t think he recognizes me, but we work at the same hospital, and we probably would have some things in common (except I’m not a liar!)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 247 other followers

